The Road to The Right to Be

• 16 January 2024
  • 0 replies
The Road to The Right to Be
Userlevel 5
Badge

“Everyone has the right to a nationality. No one shall be arbitrarily deprived of his nationality nor denied the right to change his nationality.” - Article 15 of the declaration of human rights. 

This line has puzzled me for a long time. It is clear and yet I and other millions exist as stateless, deprived from a nationality upon unjustified reasons. How can such a violation of a human right be? However the truth is always absurd. 

I am a stateless Lebanese artist and I have seen it all. The thing about statelessness is that it doesn’t only take away your nationality but along with it all of your other civil rights, like the right to vote, marriage, work and healthcare. You live as an invisible person in the nation of suffering, the only home we know. 

This was my reality until I said enough. I will not suffer in silence, I will raise my voice and I will fight for our rights. That’s when the idea for my film An Invisible Speaks came to me. I thought I could spread awareness through art but it quickly spiralled into a social campaign.